Month In Review

Books I read in January.

I’ve read some good books this month and there’s so many I want to read next. These are the books I read in January, click on the title’s to go to my review.

When All Is Said

When All Is Said And Done by Anne Griffin

I got this book from Netgalley to review. I really enjoyed it, a lovely character who tells us his life story.

Help Me: One Woman’s Quest to Find Out if Self-Help Really Can Change Your Life

Help Me! One Woman’s Quest To Find Out If Self-Help Really Can Change Your Life by Marianne Power

This was an ebook I bought on Amazon, it felt like reading a romantic-comedy, I enjoyed. If you think you need to read a self-help book read this.

The Memoirs Of Sherlock Holmes

I got this book for free from a website called Project Gutenberg, they offer all their books free, it’s legal as they’re all out of copyright. I got back into Sherlock Holmes this year when I finally continued with the series Sherlock. Sherlock Holmes is an intriguing character, this book is a series of short stories. I’m not sure on the timeline but I enjoyed reading them.

IMG_20180828_121704280.jpg

All Rivers Run Free by Natasha Carthew 

I won a self-care/pamper package from a blogger A Cornish Geek  and this book was included. I loved this book. I still haven’t finished the review. It reminded me a little bit of The Road but it’s more poetic, lovelier, and just brilliant.

84K by Claire North

I bought this from The Works for £2. I started reading it and couldn’t stop. I was trying not to buy any books but this one grabbed me. I couldn’t leave without it. It’s a dystopian novel set in this world where a company owns everything, it’s horrible. It  was riveting, intense and sad. Most of the time I sat there with a look of shock on my face. I haven’t written a review yet, I don’t know if I will yet. It will not do the book justice and might just be one word: SPEECHLESS!

I also started reading this book from the library:

It’s a lovely light hearted read after 84K which I think I need.

What’s next?

  • I’ve got a review of ‘All Rivers Run Free’ to write
  • Another book to read and review
  • An ebook from an author to start reading and review
  • I have so many books I want to read from my own bookshelf
  • And there’s still two books on Netgalley I need to read and review

I think that’s me remembering everything. I read quite a bit in January, but I didn’t work much, cut backs. I enjoyed all the books I read this month and only have two outstanding from this month to finish.

How did your January go? Have you read any of these books?

11 thoughts on “Books I read in January.”

  1. I haven’t read any of those books, but I had a great reading month in January: At Home on the Kazakh Steppe: A Peace Corps Memoir, by Janet Givens;
    The Reckoning, by John Grisham;
    The Library Book, by Susan Orlean;
    The Banker’s Wife, by Cristina Alger;
    If I Understood You, Would I Have This Look on My Face?, by Alan Alda; and
    Now You See Me, by Sharon J. Bolton

    I’m glad you enjoyed the books you read, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.